“The Hunger Games” by Suzanne Collins


Author: Suzanne Collins
“The Hunger Games” series: book #1

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV.

Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she steps forward to take her sister’s place in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before—and survival, for her, is second nature. Without really meaning to, she becomes a contender. But if she is to win, she will have to start making choices that will weigh survival against humanity and life against love.

Authors who read this book:

Stephenie Meyer (5 stars)

I was so obsessed with this book I had to take it with me out to dinner and hide it under the edge of the table so I wouldn’t have to stop reading. The story kept me up for several nights in a row, because even after I was finished, I just lay in bed wide awake thinking about it…The Hunger Games is amazing.

Cynthia Hand (5 stars)

I thought it was pulled off just beautifully.

Maggie Stiefvater (5 stars)

“The Most Dangerous Game” meets Survivor. I loved it: deft characterization wrapped tightly around this lean, brutal plot that absolutely grabbed me and hung on. This was one that I started reading in the morning and snarled at all comers until I had finished it in the evening. HIGHLY RECOMMEND.

Rick Riordan (5 stars)

The Hunger Games is as close to perfect an adventure novel as I’ve ever read. I could not put it down. Collins has transformed the ancient Labyrinth myth into a terrifyingly believable tale of future America. Readers will be hungry for more.

Veronica Roth (5 stars)

Beth Revis (5 stars)

Wow. Quit reading this review and go read this book. For reals.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. maryfollowsthelamb
    Mar 26, 2012 @ 18:05:49

    I guess I’ll have to see it now.

    Reply

  2. Trackback: The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan « YAbook[A]
  3. Trackback: “Divergent” by Veronica Roth « YAbook[A]

Leave a Reply

Marijana Sitar

